The Institute of Zoology, Slovak Academy of Sciences was established in 1990, after transformation and division of the Institute of Experimental Biology & Ecology, Slovak Academy of Sciences. It originally consisted of three departments: Soil Zoology, Ecosozology & Monitoring and Zoocenology. In 1991, the Departments of Ichthyology and Hydrobiology (formerly Institute of Fishery Research and Hydrobiology) were integrated into the Institute of Zoology. In 1993, the Institute was extended by inclusion of the Department of Entomology (formerly belonging to the Institute of Experimental Phytopathology and Entomology, Slovak Academy of Sciences) and Department of Vertebrate Ecology (formerly part of the Institute of Agricultural Landscape Ecology, Slovak Academy of Sciences). The Department of Virus Ecology which included several employees of the Institute of Virology, Slovak Academy of Sciences, was established in 1995. Its transformation later resulted in the constitution of a joint department of the Institutes of Virology and Zoology. At the end of 1995, Institute of Zoology SAS had 6 departments and this structure maintained till May 2008 when the organization structure was changed. Recently, IZ SAS consists of 4 departments (Molecular Physiology, Medical Zoology, Animal Ecology, and Biocontrol and Biotherapy) which reflect our main research interests.