Department of Animal Systematics

The Department of Animal Systematics focuses on systematics and taxonomy of various insect orders, and at applied research utilizing results of basic science for agricultural, medical and environmental practice.

Systematics and taxonomy
– mainly Blattaria, Diptera, Coleoptera and Neuroptera

The sterile insect technique – eradication and control of tse-tse flies
– improvement of bred colonies in mass rearing tse-tse flies (Glossina sp.)
– optimization of sterile insect technique in the tse-tse males
– training of scholars to improve breeding of tsetse colonies in Africa
– production of sterile male tsetse Glossina pallidipes competitive to wild males
– analysis of effects of various antibiotics and yeast extracts on intestinal bacterial symbionts and their impact on the overall fertility of tsetse flies

Pesticide-free control of the house fly and stable fly populations
– development of ecological methods for eradication of stable fly (Stomoxys calcitrans) and house fly (Musca domestica) in livestock farms in Slovakia

Name / Position E-mail Phone
Kautman, Matej Mgr.

matej.kautman@savba.sk 02/5930 6215
Majzlan, Oto Prof., CSc.

senior researcher
majzlan@fns.uniba.sk
Mangová, Barbara Mgr., PhD.

scientific researcher
barbara.mangova@savba.sk 02/5930 2635
Michalková, Veronika Mgr., PhD.

scientific researcher
Veronika.Michalkova@savba.sk
Pecina, Peter Mgr.

PhD student
peter.pecina@savba.sk
Procházka, Emanuel Mgr., PhD.

scientific researcher
emanuel.prochazka@savba.sk 02/5930 2647
Semelbauer, Marek Mgr., PhD.

scientific researcher
Marek.Semelbauer@savba.sk
Steinhübel, Jakub Mgr.

jakub.steinhubel@savba.sk 02/5479 1054
Takáč, Peter RNDr., CSc.

senior researcher
Peter.Takac@savba.sk 02/5930 2642
Vidlička, Ľubomír doc. RNDr., CSc.

head of department, senior researcher
Lubomir.Vidlicka@savba.sk 02/5930 2640
Vršanský, Peter Mgr., PhD.

senior researcher
Peter.Vrsansky@savba.sk
Weisová, Jana

Jana.Weisova@savba.sk 02/5930 2629